Media Releases

For all media enquiries, please contact

New QIMR council announced

The new Council of the Queensland Institute of Medical Research (QIMR) was announced by the Queensland Government today.

QIMR Council Chair, Professor John Hay AC said the new QIMR Council will continue to govern and manage the operations of the organisation to reinforce QIMR’s position as one of Australia’s largest and most successful research institutes.

“QIMR is pleased to welcome four new members to the Council including Mr Rod Wylie, Professor Alan Pettigrew, Mr Greg Baynton and Professor Nick Fisk,” Professor Hay said.

“Our new Council members bring a range of experience from both the academic and business sectors, helping ensure we have a strong team.

“These additional members join Mr Christopher Coyne (Deputy Chair), Professor Bryan Campbell, Professor Judith Clements, Associate Professor Paula Marlton and Dr Jeannette Young to help complete QIMR’s new Council.

“Our new Council forms at an exciting and busy time for QIMR.

“We are entering a phase of unprecedented growth and research achievements, with the Institute’s new 15 floor research facility at Herston, scheduled for completion in early 2012.

“This follows the appointment earlier this year of Professor Frank Gannon as Director of QIMR, heralding new leadership for the Institute.

“I would like to sincerely thank former Council members Mr Paul Fennelly and Professor Lyn Griffiths for their invaluable and tireless contribution to QIMR.”

QIMR Council members’ biographies are available here.