Media Releases

For all media enquiries, please contact

New Council appointed to guide QIMR Berghofer

The Queensland Government has appointed a new Council to lead the State’s medical research institute, QIMR Berghofer.

The new Council comprises eight new members, including new Chair Professor Arun Sharma, and three reappointed members.

Continuing member Mr Michael Sargent has been appointed Deputy Chair.

Professor Sharma and Mr Sargent are joined on the Council by Professor Alan Pettigrew and Emeritus Professor John Shine, along with new appointees:

  • Dr Madonna Callaghan
  • Ms Celeste Neander
  • Mr Mitchell Petrie
  • Ms Susan Rallings
  • Dr Clair Sullivan
  • Emeritus Professor Janet Verbyla
  • Dr Sonya Bennett.

Health Minister Steven Miles congratulated the new appointees and said they would help to further strengthen the world leading institute.

“The diverse group of new Council members bring to QIMR Berghofer a range of experience and skills from health, academic and business sectors,” he said.

“Professor Arun Sharma will bring with him strong academic experience in both Australian and overseas universities.

“I have no doubt the Council will continue to reinforce QIMR’s position as a powerhouse of research, as one of Australia’s most successful research institutes.”

Mr Miles also thanked the retiring Council members for their work over their respective terms.

The retiring council members are Dr Doug McTaggart, retiring Chair, Mr Chris Coyne, retiring Deputy Chair, Dr Jeannette Young, Professor Paula Marlton, Mr Ian Fraser and Emeritus Professor John de Jersey.

The new Council will lead the institute as it heads into its 75th Anniversary year in 2020.