Media Releases

For all media enquiries, please contact

Emma Whitelaw AAS Fellow

QIMR’s Emma Whitelaw elected into the Australian Academy of Science

QIMR’s Professor Emma Whitelaw has been elected into the Australian Academy of Science (AAS) for her work in epigenetics, pioneering the study of transgenerational epigenetic inheritance and complex diseases caused by gene-environment interactions.

Professor Whitelaw is current chair of QIMR’s Division of Genetics and Population Health, Head of QIMR’s Epigenetics Laboratory and is an Australian Fellow.

Election to the Australian Academy of Science recognises a career that has significantly advanced, and continues to advance, the world’s scientific knowledge. There are currently 430 Fellows whose expertise ranges across all the science disciplines – from genetics to the Mathematics of general relativity; from palaeoclimatology to advances in wave science.

One of only seventeen scientists elected this year, Professor Whitelaw received the prestigious Fellowship on 23 March 2011.

Professor Whitelaw is honoured to be elected an Australian Academy of Science Fellow. “I am delighted to be elected into the Australian Academy of Science. It is an enormous honour to be recognised among some of Australia’s most talented researchers. I hope that I can contribute to the work of the Academy in promoting science within Australia.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank many of my colleagues for their support, in particular all of the past and present members of my laboratory. I stand on their shoulders.”

Academy President Professor Suzanne Cory warmly welcomed Professor Whitelaw. “On behalf of the Australian Academy of Science, it is my great privilege as President to warmly congratulate Professor Whitelaw on being elected as a Fellow. Her election is a signal recognition of her stellar scientific achievements and we warmly welcome her to the Fellowship at this exciting and challenging time in our history.”

QIMR now has five Fellows among its staff including Professors Brian Kay, Nick Martin, David Kemp, and Peter Visscher.